Soup’s On Sundays / Garden Veggie Noodle Soup

March 13, 2011

So I’m trying out something new: Every Sunday I will be making a soup that I can then bring into the office on Monday to taste-test it with the masses (lucky Modeans). I’m back-tracking a little bit with this entry, as I made this last Sunday, but I didn’t get the motivation to pick up this blog again until an hour or two ago.

Anyway, I’ve had this recipe for awhile, but last week I did something a little different and it ended up bringing the soup from a 7 or 8 to a sure 9, probably 10 (if I do say so myself). What you’ll end up with is a light, but flavor-filled soup that should taste healthy and garden-fresh. Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients:
Olive Oil
1 Onion (sliced)
4-5 Garlic Cloves (minced)
~2 cups Egg Noodles
Sriracha (to taste)
32 oz. Vegetable Stock
32 oz. Beef Stock (you can use all vegetable or sub chicken, which you’d prefer)
12 oz. Tomato Sauce
12 oz. Diced Tomatoes
12 oz. Garbanzo Beans (drained)
1/2 lb. Okra (sliced)
1/2 bunch of Collard Greens, 6-7 leaves (chopped)
2 small Zucchini (sliced and halved)
1 yellow Squash (sliced and halved)
1/2 carton of Mushrooms (sliced)
Salt & Pepper (of course)

Prep Time: <10 minutes
Cook Time:
25 minutes
Servings: 10-12

Kitchen Utensils:
Large Soup Pot
Medium Pot
Strainer
Cutting Board
Stirring Spoon
Knife

Alright, I’ll start off by saying that any of the ingredients that are italicized are things I’ve added to suit my personal taste and can definitely be modified as you see fit. Now, to get started, I always like to do all my cutting, chopping, slicing and mincing up front. That way I can pay more attention to the way the food is cooking and the scent and flavor, as well. For me, cooking is all about the details.

Let’s start with the noodles. Fill the medium pot about 1/2 full with water and add a teaspoon or so of salt to the water. After it comes to a rolling boil, add the egg noodles and cook for 10-15 minutes, or until the pasta is tender. Drain the water and leave the noodles in the strainer for later use.

To begin the soup, cover the entire bottom of the large soup pot in a very thin layer of olive oil and put on medium heat. Add the onions and garlic and sauté until golden. Now, add about 10 or so dashes of the sriracha sauce and continue sauté until almost brown. It’s important to note that the sriracha shouldn’t make the soup spicy, but instead the right amount should create a slight warming sensation on the palate following the bite; which is exactly what people are looking for from soup on a chilly day.

Next you’ll turn up the heat to medium-high and add the stock, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes and garbanzo beans and bring it to a boil. This is where I like to incorporate the majority of the salt and pepper, as well. [Note: I like to add more garbanzo beans than the recipe calls for because I really like the texture they add to the soup, up to you]

Vegetable noodle soup in the works.

After it’s boiling, go ahead and add the okra, collard greens, zucchini, squash and mushroom. [Note: You can use 1 large zucchini instead of yellow squash if you’re partial to zuc, however bringing the yellow into the soup really increases the aesthetic appeal]. Lower the heat back to medium and let it simmer for about 15-20 minutes, stirring occassionally. You’ll know it’s finished cooking when all your vegetables, specifically the collard greens, have softened. If you chose to include the noodles, now’s the best time to throw them in the mix. Make sure you taste the broth, and add salt/pepper as you see fit.

Now, this soup is great hot and right out of the pot, but for best results I suggest letting it sit in the fridge overnight. I guarantee that the garden flavors are even more robust and the texture improves after chilling in the fridge. Warm it back up and serve with sliced Italian bread and butter. Great for a fall or spring day.

[Final Note: I was too over-anxious about this soup and didn’t take a picture of the finished product. I promise I will try to have better documentation moving forward.]

~ by wintersm on March 22, 2011.

One Response to “Soup’s On Sundays / Garden Veggie Noodle Soup”

  1. I have used similar ingredients but have put spinach instead of collard greens in and also delicious. Looking forward to your next soup recipe!

Leave a Reply

 
